Microsoft word starter and word count
To supplement the formatting you can do with the gallery of styles, you can select the text you want to format, and then choose a command from the Font group of the Home tab.
Adjusting margins on the page gives you more or less blank space between the content of your document and the edges of the page. By default, Word Starter sets all margins at one inch. Narrower margins fit more content on the page than wider margins, but blank space makes the document easier on the eye.
You decide whether you want to use the default margin settings or whether another setting will make the document look the way you want. Click one of the pre-set configurations, or to make your own configuration, click Custom Margins , and then set dimensions in the Top , Bottom , Left , and Right boxes.
You can lay out the page horizontally instead of veritcally—for example, if your document includes a wide table. By default, the U. English version of Word Starter uses inches to specify dimensions such as page margins.
If you would rather use metric or typesetting units, click the File tab, click Options , click Advanced , and then under Display , choose the units you want to use in the Show measurements in units of box.
You can easily insert a picture that is stored on your computer into your document. Additionally, Office. On the Insert tab, in the Illustrations group, click Picture. Locate the picture that you want to insert. For example, you might have a picture file located in Documents.
In the Clip Art task pane, in the Search for text box, type a word or phrase that describes the clip art that you want. Click Go , and then in the list of results, click the clip art to insert it into your document.
When you search for clip art and pictures online, you'll be directed to Bing. You're responsible for respecting copyright , and the license filter in Bing can help you choose which images to use. Tip To resize a picture, select the picture you've inserted in the document. To increase or decrease the size in one or more directions, drag a sizing handle away from or toward the center.
Tables give you a way to arrange content in rows and columns. This is a handy way to present information that is categorized or grouped, such as shirt sizes for your team, price and other criteria for items on a shopping list, or phone numbers and e-mail addresses for a list of contacts.
On the Insert tab, in the Tables group, click Table , and then drag to select the number of rows and columns that you want. Type your text in the table. If you need more rows, press TAB when you reach the end of the existing table. Click anywhere in the table, and then on the Design tab, within the Table Tools tab, point to but don't click the various table styles in the gallery. To switch header-row formatting off, clear the Header Row check box in the Table Style Options group.
Experiment with switching the other options off. When you find the table style you like, click it. Checking the spelling of your document is a quick, easy way to save yourself embarrassment of typographical errors and misspellings in your document.
As you type, Word Starter marks spelling errors with a red, wavy underline. You can correct these by right-clicking the word and then clicking the correctly spelled word or click Ignore if you want Word Starter to skip over this word, or click Add to Dictionary if this is a spelling you want to mark as being correct.
Word Starter marks grammatical errors with a green, wavy underline. Correct these in the same way as you correct spelling errors click the correction that Word Starter suggests, or click Ignore Once. Word Starter marks contextual spelling errors with a blue, wavy underline.
These are words that are spelled correctly, but are not likely the word you mean. For example, in English, you might type, "Let me no. Before you print a document, it's a good idea to preview it to make sure that it looks the way you want. In this view, you can change some page setup options before you print.
When you need to know how many words, pages, characters, paragraphs, or lines are in a document, check the status bar. For a partial word count, select the words you want to count. The status bar shows the word count for that selection and for the entire document. Tip: Find the number of characters, paragraphs, and lines by clicking on the word count in the status bar.
You can view the number of characters, lines, paragraphs, and other information in your Word for Mac, by clicking the word count in the status bar to open the Word Count box.
Unless you have selected some text, Word counts all text in the document, as well as the characters, and displays them in the Word Count box as the Statistics.
To count the number of words in only part of your document, select the text you want to count. Then on the Tools menu, click Word Count. Maybe you noticed that Word for the web gives you an approximate word count. If you need an exact count, click Open in Word , and look at the word count at the bottom of the Word document window.
Table of contents. Next: Format text. Count the number of characters, lines, and paragraphs You can view the number of characters, lines, paragraphs, and other information in your Word for Mac, by clicking the word count in the status bar to open the Word Count box. To enable grammar checking plugins like Grammarly and Ginger, disable ours from the settings panel on the left.
We live in a quantifiable world where numbers are ever more important in our written work; in the reports we present, the blogs we write and the academic papers we labor over. They all have one important feature in common: the person who wrote them used word count.
Knowing how to quickly count words in Microsoft Word will certainly speed up your workflow. Do any of these scenarios apply to you? Your teacher assigns a word essay on the recent presidential election and you need to make sure you hit the required word count. Your life revolves around mastering the , , and 1,word blog post as a professional blogger.
Your publisher asks you to send them the first 10, words of your new novel, and you're not sure how much you've written. You're filling out an online job application form that has a character count limit, and you want to make sure you sound hireable. These and many other scenarios make it important to know how to find the word count in your Microsoft Word doc. Many people are using different versions of Microsoft Word, but luckily the way you access the word count feature has remained relatively consistent throughout the various versions.
The first way to check for the word count is to look in the shaded Status Bar at the very bottom of the page. On the far left you should see page count and a word count listed.
0コメント